Ernie Smart Community Service Award

The Ernie Smart Community Service Award is awarded to 4 recipients – 1 from each District, on a yearly basis. The recipient of this award should be a non-profit group or organization that has been of benefit to your community. The winners of the award will be announced at our State Convention in April.

The qualifications for the award are as follows:

  • Member lodges of the Oklahoma Elks Association shall submit projects to be considered for the award to the Charitable Trust no later than the end of February
  • To be eligible for the award, the submittal must contain:
    • Name of sponsoring Elks Lodge
    • Name and business address of the project
    • Principal officer of the project’s name, address and phone number
    • Statement of the activity of the project
    • Impact of the project in the community
  • Other documents may be submitted, including:
    • Newspaper articles concerning the project
    • Letters of support reflecting community merit
    • Testimonials from people served by the project
    • Statement of need or proposed budget
    • Other supporting documents
  • All applications must be submitted to the local Lodge nearest the applicant’s main business location
  • Local Lodges should submit all applications before March to:

Chairman – Charitable Trust
Jack M. Roper
501 Oakridge Drive
Apt B
Ada, OK 74820